Looking for the right saddle

jamesprice

Jul 13, 2009
Hey I am pretty new to riding and am having trouble with my saddle. My setup is a 2006 Fuji Team Carbon with Mavic Ksyzium SL wheels but my saddle is just a Bontrager basic saddle from a new base model Trek. I am looking to get a new one but dont know where to start. I am 6'2" weigh about 210 any help is greatly appreciated.

Your best bet is to go to a reputable LBS who will let you try out a few different saddles. Everyone is built somewhat differently and saddle advice is the hardest to give.

Personally, I like a couple of different Selle Italia models and am fond of my Brooks saddles.

Much will depend on the width of your ischial tuberosities (commonly known as "sit bones") and the distance you are riding ... your weight and even the surface of the roads you regularly ride come into the equation.

You can get a pretty good idea of what's a contender in a relatively short ride. Even so, most of us have a few duds in our spare parts box.

I like the Brooks B17 Special my self it works well for me.This may be for you or not.I'm not as big as you are but look into them any way.Have a great ride.

You're going to have to try some saddles on your own. That's the only reliable way to find a saddle that works. For that you need to find a good LBS that will you to try out a few saddles.

Don't drink the Brooks kool aid without trying first. There are plenty of folks who couldn't or can't get on with Brooks saddles.

randochap said:
Your best bet is to go to a reputable LBS who will let you try out a few different saddles. Everyone is built somewhat differently and saddle advice is the hardest to give.

Personally, I like a couple of different Selle Italia models and am fond of my Brooks saddles.

Much will depend on the width of your ischial tuberosities (commonly known as "sit bones") and the distance you are riding ... your weight and even the surface of the roads you regularly ride come into the equation.