Looking to buy a cheap bike

Thomas van Dop

Mar 8, 2013
Hello,

I am visiting the US for 6 months and am looking for a cheap road bike to train. As a student my budget is limited (the less I spend, the better).

I'm unsure as to what I need, so could you give me some advice? I know that I would like a bike that requires little maintenance.

I have visited a cycling shop, but they only offer more expensive bikes (starting around 700-800). On craigslist I find cheaper bikes, but I do not recognize the groups on them, and they're often old, so I question the quality. Do you have any idea how for example the bicycles that are sold on the website of Wallmart (example: http://www.walmart.com/ip/700c-Schwinn-Varsity-1300-Men-s-Road-Bike/21191098 ) are qualitatively good enough for a relative newbie? Or any other place to find a decent bike (not for racing, just for training) for ~250 dollar?

Regards,

Thomas

Walmart, Target, Any small sporting goods place I stopped in at a Dunhams just to see what they had to my surprise they did actually have some bikes of course out of season here in Michigan they didn't have a good selection. I just picked up the GMC Denali Road Bike from Walmart I ordered it online but not here yet so I cant tell ya any more than that what sold me is all the postive reviews on this bike compared to a few others plus I was also looking at Mountain bikes and they all didn't have as good of reviews as this one I looked at You Tube Videos looked at reviews online- took me about a week to break down and say this one is the better of the low end bikes like you I can't go out and spend 700+ dollars on a bike either. Good luck

I'd go with that Schwinn, over the Denali, if you're going to get a Wally World bike.