Looking to graduate from my Trek 7100

JackOrlFL

Jul 30, 2009
Hey all.. I'm thinking of upgrading from my Trek 7100 that I've been riding for 4 years now. I'm a fairly big/tall guy 6'4" 250lbs, so I need a bike that will support my frame and get a nice ride/workout with. My hybrid is nice so not sure if I want to stay with a hybrid or not. I'd like a little lighter, but need the sturdy frame thing. I've been looking at a Cannondale Adventure 5, or perhaps a Specialized. Not sure I want a comfort bike, would that be slower/heavier than a hybrid? Any feedback on what brand/type that would be a good fit. Another thing, I keep hearing that Trek's aren't that great, hearing negative press on them, not sure if it is a sales pitch or not. Thanks for reading and any feedback. :cool:

JackOrlFL said:
I've been looking at a Cannondale Adventure 5, or perhaps a Specialized. Not sure I want a comfort bike, would that be slower/heavier than a hybrid? Any feedback on what brand/type that would be a good fit. Another thing, I keep hearing that Trek's aren't that great, hearing negative press on them, not sure if it is a sales pitch or not. Thanks for reading and any feedback. :cool:
Your trek 7100 is a comfort bike so I don't understand why you might want another comfort bike.

Hybrid is a general class that includes all bikes that aren't cruisers, road bikes, or mountain bikes. That includes comfort bikes, fitness bikes, urban hipster bikes, the whole spectrum. Generally I call anything that has derailleur shifting and flat handlebars and is not a mountain bike a hybrid.

Now that we have that settled you have to decide what kind of riding you're going to do. If it's mainly on pavement then you have to decide how deep you want to go--fitness bike (Trek FX or Specialized Sirrus, for example) or full bore road bike. If dirt is a significant part of your riding, then you should look at dirt-oriented hybrids (Specialized Crosstrail, for example).