Low Heart Rate

maloy666

Mar 23, 2015
Hello everybody,

As i searched through topics of the last few years i havent found a similar question - if it has been asked, it would be nice if someone shared a link to it.

So, to the question...

I have been riding bike for seven years now, last three years by planned training (cyclists training bible by joe friel).
Since second year (when i bought myself a HR monitor), my LTHR was around 174 - 175 bpm.

This season i noticed that my heart rate is quite lower than it used to be.
Before, my HR on easy rides was around 150bpm on average, this year around 140bpm and i feel like i have to put in more effort to achieve this.

I noticed this early this season, when i started base training.
I havent done any max effort rides yet, since it's early season...also no LTHR test done this year yet.
I feel that i had enough rest after last season, about month and a half of very low workload (2-3x short and easy rides a week).

Since there is a lot written about overtraining, i don't think i'm overtrained (at least i don't have any symptoms that usualy come with it). I feel ok when riding, sleep ok, resting HR is also ok. besides that, i haven't done any near LTHR or above effort since last october.

since i havent done any serious effort rides for almost half a year, could this be the reason?
and could my LTHR drop from this long time without serious effort rides?

If anyone knows what the reason for my low HR could be, i would really appreciate it.

Thanks, best regards,

maloy

Heart rate is a moving target and dependent on more than just effort and age.

For example, this time of year I split my training between indoor and outdoor rides. On indoor rides (spin classes / intervals) I can typically run my HR up in to the low 170's on hard efforts. Hard efforts outdoors, take a long time to get to the 160's.