Low maintenance, simple commute bike

kotterr

Oct 21, 2012
I am looking for a low maintenance, simple commute bike. I have been biking for fun for many years, but now I am interested in commuting. My main concern is maintenance. I don't want a bike that needs hundreds of dollars of maintenance from year to year. From personal experience, problems with bikes happen in this order:

1. Gear shifting system goes out of order, causing unexpected gear changes between two gears (leads to falling pedals).
2. Wheels get bent from use, needing maintenance.
3. Bent wheels cause simple braking system to touch wheel when not engaged.

So what I am looking for is a single speed bike (no gears, no gear switching system), disc brakes and disc type wheel (steel or alloy, no traditional spokes!).

Any suggestions will be fine. I realize that expensive bikes can pay for themselves in the long run by eliminating the need for expensive maintenance plaguing cheaper models.

Also, I like dual suspensions, but I realize that may not be possible with these requirements.

Just to clarify, the wheels I'm looking for are like this:

http://store.aerospoke.com/img-700c-red._896.gif

Only they don't have to be made of carbon or composites. I don't mind aluminum alloy or steel.

kotterr said:
I am looking for a low maintenance, simple commute bike. I have been biking for fun for many years, but now I am interested in commuting. My main concern is maintenance. I don't want a bike that needs hundreds of dollars of maintenance from year to year. From personal experience, problems with bikes happen in this order: 1. Gear shifting system goes out of order, causing unexpected gear changes between two gears (leads to falling pedals). 2. Wheels get bent from use, needing maintenance. 3. Bent wheels cause simple braking system to touch wheel when not engaged.