Low spoke count wheels

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Phil Zminda

I've been shopping for a new bike and several of the bikes I've been looking at have aero style
wheels with 24 spokes. Since my only experience has been with Mavic MA-2's with 36 or 32 spokes, I'm
concerned about spoke breakage on the high-tech wheels. One bike I'm considering is the Cannondale
R600, which has Gipeimme Techno 4.24 wheels (per the web-site). I've also looked at the Felt F-65,
which has similar wheels, but didn't note the brand. I'm 6'2", 200 lbs.. Should I be concerned?

As alternatives I've also looked at the Cannondale R500, the Bianchi Eros and the Trek 1200, which
all have 32 spoke wheels. Although I haven't made up my mind on which bike and may ride them again
(haven't ridden the Felt), should the wheels be a concern. The upgraded 105 components on the R600
and Felt are what brought them into consideration. I'm a newbie when it comes to current road bike
technology and appreciate any comments.

Thanks,

Phil

In article <[email protected]>, "Phil Zminda" <[email protected]> wrote:

> I've been shopping for a new bike and several of the bikes I've been looking at have aero style
> wheels with 24 spokes. Since my only experience has been with Mavic MA-2's with 36 or 32 spokes,
> I'm concerned about spoke breakage on the high-tech wheels. One bike I'm considering is the
> Cannondale R600, which has Gipeimme Techno 4.24 wheels (per the web-site). I've also looked at the
> Felt F-65, which has similar wheels, but didn't note the brand. I'm 6'2", 200 lbs.. Should I be
> concerned?
>
> As alternatives I've also looked at the Cannondale R500, the Bianchi Eros and the Trek 1200, which
> all have 32 spoke wheels. Although I haven't made up my mind on which bike and may ride them again
> (haven't ridden the Felt), should the wheels be a concern. The upgraded 105 components on the R600