Making a Shopping List...Questions About Helmets...

Edudbor

Aug 19, 2007
I'm new to bicycle riding; and I've always heard/been told, 'Where your helmet'. It wans't "cool" back in high school (but I never road a bicycle, so it worked out) but now, every single co-worker than rides a bicycle has a helmet. I bought one when I first got my bicycle (had problems, everything is returned and I'm starting over).

I'm not sure if I should buy a helmet; I've heard that in some cases it makes things *worse* and in some cases it *might* make things better.

I'm sure there will be people on both sides of the debate - but mostly, I'm curious what 'most people' who are serious riders do. Do most of you all ride with helmets or do most of you ride without; or is it 50/50?

It is required by law to were a bicycle helmet when riding where I live. Almost everybody I see on the roads riding wears a helmet.

Edudbor said:
I'm sure there will be people on both sides of the debate - but mostly, I'm curious what 'most people' who are serious riders do. Do most of you all ride with helmets or do most of you ride without; or is it 50/50?
I don't know what the latest thoughts about helmets are in Europe, Australia, South America and other parts of the world, but there really isn't any serious debate here in the USA imo. Pretty much all the serious riders wear one. And helmets are mandatory to participate in any charity event or USCF (United States Cycling Federation) race.

The way I look at it, regardless of whether helmets are required or not, is that if you value your brain, you want to wear one. Helmets have saved my head from being cracked open more than once. :D And an inexpensive helmet, as long as it has your country's official safety certification for helmets, will protect your head just as well as an expensive one will. So you don't have to break your bank to get decent helmet protection.

Edudbor said: