Man I'm such a moron, no wonder I've been slow as hell

LS17

Jun 24, 2005
I have been competing in a couple races and I've always been the last. I've been lapped in every race I've entered and a few I've been asked to leave early a few times because I was so slow. Anyways, I am a total beginner but I thought I could a least hang with other CAT 5s for a while but I was painfully slow and never had power to match their speed.

So I was playing around with my bike today and I raised the seat several milimeters. I did this because I saw a lot of bikes with seats way higher than the handlebars at a local ride. WHOAH. what a difference. Now I know why I've been so slow. I can now cruise at a mcuch higher speed with less effort. My legs feel much better as I'm pedalling and I no longer feel I like I've got no power at all. Compared to before if feels like I was in a constant headwind when i had my seat way low. I think I need to train all over again because I must have not been working out the muscles I need to. My seat is now dramatically higher and I feel much better on the bike and I think it even handles better. What a noob.
mad.gif

from the sounds of it your seat height is probably still wrong. Go to a bike shop and ask them to fit you

LS17 said:
I have been competing in a couple races and I've always been the last. I've been lapped in every race I've entered and a few I've been asked to leave early a few times because I was so slow. Anyways, I am a total beginner but I thought I could a least hang with other CAT 5s for a while but I was painfully slow and never had power to match their speed.