Marathons & Water Stops

Discussion in 'General Fitness' started by P. Gregory, Sep 13, 2003.

1. P. Gregory

P. Gregory Guest

I am a graduate student doing a project on service times and waiting. As a runner and marathoner, my
    topic is water stops in a marathon. I would appreciate your input on:
    1. Approximate percent of water stops that you stop at, in a spring marathon
    2. Does anybody have race management experience and know approximately how may cups of water a race
    plans on per person, for a marathon.

Thank you for you input Polly

Tags:

2. Steve Common

Steve Common Guest

[email protected] (P. Gregory) wrote:

>1. Approximate percent of water stops that you stop at, in a spring marathon

All except the last = 7 supposing one per 5km. I drink around 200ml at each.

>2. Does anybody have race management experience and know approximately how may cups of water a
    > race plans on per person, for a marathon.

You might like to look at the stats on the Paris marathon website. They detail the number of bottles
    of water, bananas etc...

3. I stop at almost every one provided. I might miss the last one.

--
    Joseph E. Meehan

26 + 6 = 1 It's Irish Math

"P. Gregory" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > I am a graduate student doing a project on service times and waiting. As a runner and marathoner,
    > my topic is water stops in a marathon. I would appreciate your input on:
    > 1. Approximate percent of water stops that you stop at, in a spring marathon
    > 2. Does anybody have race management experience and know approximately how may cups of water a
    >
    > Thank you for you input Polly

4. Edward

Edward Guest

[email protected] (P. Gregory) wrote in message
    news:<[email protected]>...
    > I am a graduate student doing a project on service times and waiting. As a runner and marathoner,
    > my topic is water stops in a marathon. I would appreciate your input on: