Masi Vincere '10 vs Raleigh

Vito12

Mar 2, 2010
Hi All,
I am a newbie to the site and a rookie rider. I started riding last year and wanted to step it up a notch. I currently have a Trek 1300 (if I recall correctly) and its a 12 speed. I got blown away last year and some of the hills we went up and down crushed me.

I just left a local bike shop and met a Masi Vincere; what an awesome looking bike. The shop owner was telling me that the bike is great for its price but that I could get a Raleigh for less with the same bells and whistles. He recommended that I come test ride both and see which one I like more.

My budget is $1,000 and I am looking to get the most bang for my buck. I also want to get a good bike.

I think my riding is going to be recreational and possibly 3-5 times a month at an average distance of 35 miles, anyone want to offer me any advice or opinions of the Masi?

Thanks! I am interested in other bikes as well but need to focus on affordability.

Vito

Even though the MASI is no longer made in Italy (that may be a good thing, BTW, due to cost), I don't know anyone who has ever regretted buying a frame with an Italian name on its badge (okay, maybe I need a larger circle-of-friends) ...

PLUS, what would your 'Nona' say if she say is she saw you riding a RALEIGH if she ever found out you had an option to ride a MASI?!?

alfeng said:
Even though the MASI is no longer made in Italy (that may be a good thing, BTW, due to cost), I don't know anyone who has ever regretted buying a frame with an Italian name on its badge (okay, maybe I need a larger circle-of-friends) ...

PLUS, what would your 'Nona' say if she say is she saw you riding a RALEIGH if she ever found out you had an option to ride a MASI?!?