Mathematicians please

Phil S

Sep 14, 2003
If a 160lb rider on 700x25c tyres at 110psi needs to put out 219w to achieve 24mph on rollers, will a 150-152lb rider on 700x23c tyres require more or less watts at the same speed, if so how much? Sorry I was a linguist at school and a disaster at maths. :confused:

Phil S said:
If a 160lb rider on 700x25c tyres at 110psi needs to put out 219w to achieve 24mph on rollers, will a 150-152lb rider on 700x23c tyres require more or less watts at the same speed, if so how much? Sorry I was a linguist at school and a disaster at maths. :confused:
This is not a question of mathematics but of physics, and the physics of what you are asking is quite complex. As a mathematician, I would simply tell you that I have no idea, since you do not give me any equations that I could apply to this problem. As a physicist or an engineer, I would tell you that I do not have enough information to determine what the combined effect of the simultaneous change in the two parameters you mention (tire size and load) might be qualitatively, let alone quantitatively.

Alienator said:
If a 160lb rider on ......blah, blah, blah........you can't get a numerical answer.

Ooops. I forgot the riders were of two different sizes.......
The following can contribute to differences in power output (these are just some things not all):
  • The efficiency of each rider.
  • The difference in drivetrain efficiency between bikes
  • state of maintenance of each bike
  • differences in bearing drag between wheelset
  • Inner tube type
  • Differences in rolling resistance for each bike
  • Changes in efficiency of the rollers as a result of the loads from two different riders.
If the bikes are different, then that adds more variables to consider. Then you need to consider how large of a difference must be to be considered significant: would it be a difference in tenths, hundreths, ten-thousandths,.....

Phil S said: