Mavic Crossmax question...

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Danny

OK, the first order of business.. I'm a newbie..

(if you're still with me, THANKS! lol)

Now, to the question. I picked up a brand new set of Mavic Crossmax Disc wheels without
spokes or hubs..

(waits for the laughter to subside...)

My question is, Can I pick up the hubs and spokes from an online shop or should I go to Mavic
directly.. also, for getting them assmebled properly, Would a local bike shop with decent techs
beable to build these? or should I send them to Mavic to be put together?

Thanks! Danny

> My question is, Can I pick up the hubs and spokes from an online shop or should I go to Mavic
> directly.. also, for getting them assmebled
properly,
> Would a local bike shop with decent techs beable to build these? or
should
> I send them to Mavic to be put together?

My LBS did mine no problem; ask yours. Get whoever does it to use loctite.

"John Harlow" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:uW0ra.407126$Zo.94432@sccrnsc03...
> > My question is, Can I pick up the hubs and spokes from an online
shop or
> > should I go to Mavic directly.. also, for getting them assmebled
> properly,
> > Would a local bike shop with decent techs beable to build these? or
> should
> > I send them to Mavic to be put together?
>
> My LBS did mine no problem; ask yours. Get whoever does it to use
loctite.
>

The big plus for Crossmax is the Mavic build quality (and the warranty). If you have the LBS do the
build you are paying very high prices for components that may be rendered rubbish by poor building.
On the other hand if you have Mavic do it you will pay very high prices for components and for
building but you won't get the wheels back for months, literally (so what good is the warranty?).

Peter

> >
> > My LBS did mine no problem; ask yours. Get whoever does it to use
> loctite.
> >
>

Whoever said this might want to think twice about have that LBS build wheels. Loctite is a last