Mavic SLs and spacers for Shimano - what to do

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by jrstevens, Aug 22, 2006.

  1. jrstevens

    jrstevens New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased my first set of Mavic Ksyrium SL3s and have a question. In their manual it shows to use the provided spacer for Shimano cassettes however Shimano also supplies a spacer for its 10 spd cassettes. Do I use both? I rode the other day without the Shimano spacer and when i returned home my cassette was loose and I was confident I had tightened it enough. I have installed the Shimano spacer but haven't ridden the wheels yet. In any event I'd like to know what the SOP is for these spacers. TIA,

    JS
     
    Tags:


  2. lks

    lks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a combined 50k miles on the top Ksyriums built by Mavic over the last 6 years. All of the spacers that come with a Campy, and I assume Shimano, casette must be used and must be used in the correct sequence. Campy and Shimano have no idea what the width of the splined freehub is, that you are mounting their cassette on and must leave any wheel spacer requirement up to the wheel mfg. A Ksyrium with a Campy freehub will come with the correct spacer for a Campy cassette. A Ksyrium with a Shimano freehub, will come with the correct spacer for a Shimano cassette. The Shimano web-site shows their different casettes and the correct sequence of the spacers. I have never had a casette lock ring come loose but when I check it, it's torque is almost always a little lower than what I torqued it to before. The new Shimano Ksyrium ES's have a Ti freehub I don't know if others do also. I know my Campy Ksyrium ES's don't. The point is, That the Ti may require a different torque, I don't know.
     
  3. li0scc0

    li0scc0 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, make sure you use the spacer, called the 'low spacer'.
     
  4. jrstevens

    jrstevens New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    the cassette lock ring was fine but it was all the individual cogs that were loose. I took out the Mavic spacer and used just the Shimano spacer and that didn't work so now I'm going to try both.

    JS
     
  5. lks

    lks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you tighten the lock ring and you cogs are loose, you are missing a cassette spacer or have installed them in the wrong sequence. Or you have installed the wrong wheel spacer.
     
  6. SpiderJ

    SpiderJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had exactly the same but discovered it before I even rode it - you need to use both spacers and it will be fine.
     
  7. TrekDedicated

    TrekDedicated New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not a question about the spacers, but didn't want to start a new thread.

    For the magnet on the front wheel, it says I need to cut the two little notches off to have it fit on the wide spoke, is that correct?
     
  8. ozelise

    ozelise New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the magnet that came with the wheel, yes.
     
  9. Ray Dockrey

    Ray Dockrey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to use both spacers. The Mavic hubs are spaced for Campy or Shimano. Campy is wider so you they supply a spacer for all Shimano cassettes. Shimano ten speed cassettes are narrower then nine speed cassettes so you have to use the Shimano spacer when using a ten speed cassette along with the Mavic spacer.
     
Loading...
Loading...