Max Heart Rate

jsolo15

May 16, 2004
Hello guys

Alittle background for you guys!

I have been riding for about 5 years Mountian Bikes. (not seriously)

The beginning of this year I start Road Biking. Needless to say, after watching two friend compete in TT events. I started training to race next season. I have been training with my friends since March.

My workouts look like this, riding 5 days a week. Two days of tempo workout on Flats for 60 minutes at 70 to 80%MHR and 2 days of doing my local hill of 1500ft climb which includes my endurance ride on sunday of 100km at 70% MHR (zone 2).

When I first started training my Max. Heart Rate when I did this 1500 ft climb would always hit about 191 to 196. (This was for the first month.)

Now here what got me, no matter what I do I can never go over 186-187 MHR. (Yesterday, I did 2 Time trail Test for 3miles at my total effort at the last 200 yards of both rides I jump of my Saddle and sprinted as hard as I could to the end and in both cases my MHR never went over 187.) Let me tell you after I finish the last TT, I was totally wasted. I did my recovery ride of 20 minutes with my legs burning and finish riding for the day.

Now my question for you veteran guys who know about this. Is it normal after you been riding or training to not reach the same Max. Heart Rate again? (I have been using the same HRM a Ciclo Sport HAC 4)

I've tried researching online on this. I haven't found any info. which leads to Max Heart Rate going down other then for age.

My age is 34.

Can't wait to hear from you guys!

I think what you're finding is that as your fitness level improves, your cardiovascular efficiency also improves, resulting in a lower heart rate for the same level of exertion.

I've also used a gnarly climb to establish my assumed max heart rate (which by the way is different for different sports).