Motivation problems

bulaboy

Jan 5, 2006
I worked hard on the trainer this winter. Took very little time off and rode consistently. I started riding outdoors in the cold and the snow back in January. I was going good in February 'til my knees started getting sore. Tried backing off on the volume and intensity for a while. It was hard to stop completely. I'm an addict after all and hated to think about losing fitness. That wasn't enough so last week I didn't touch the bike at all, so March was pretty much a bust trainingwise. Been riding every other day this week and I think my knee issues are okay now, but man I feel like **** on the bike. I'm slow(er) and I seem to forget how much suffering I was willing to endure when I'm off the bike for a while. I know I've just got to hang in there and rebuild my base, but right now I can't seem to remember what it is about this sport that I like.

Just need to vent. Thanks for listening.

I didn't do the trainer thing over the winter, but I did spend time in spinning classes and ran the resistance high for more of a workout without running so much resistance that I was straining the knees.

Last fall a comfortable ride for me was at 18-19mph on the flats. I'm now comfortable at 25mph on the flats.

During the holidays I didn't get to hit the spinning classes like I had been, and I could notice a decline in my performance after not riding for three weeks.