Motobecane Nemesis

cornerof

Jun 4, 2006
I am just getting into triathlons and was looking for a bike to buy. I came acrossed the Motobecane Nemesis. I was wondering if anyone has owned one of these or heard anything positive or negative about them. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

cornerof said:
I am just getting into triathlons and was looking for a bike to buy. I came acrossed the Motobecane Nemesis. I was wondering if anyone has owned one of these or heard anything positive or negative about them. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Yes, I own one. I like the colors, red/black/white. I assume you are looking at Bikes Direct. They are as advertised. Quick shipping, easy transaction. The bike required about 90 mins assembly - the handle bars/brakes required some thought.

As for the bike - it is very stiff, but really fast. The componenets, obviously, are top shelf. Shifts and brakes perfectly. I find 35 miles the farthest I can cover comfortably. Most time trial bikes are very much more extreme - the nemesis is more like a road bike with aero bars and a different seat post angle. But for $1000, it is a ****-hot ride:D. I will be hammering mine tomorrow evening with 10 or so other time trial/triathletes and it will be fine.

I would really like to hear some feedback on this bike. I have been looking hard at this bike and I have heard really good things about it and some bad. It seemed like the bad were just people saying "it sucks" without any imput. I can't put much behind an opinion without a reason.

I am looking at bikes up to $1250 like the Giant TCR2 and Cannondale R700. I am also looking at the Felt F80, Specialized Allez Elite (t), Giant OCR1 and Trek 1500 and Trek Pilot 1.2.

I don't think that any of these bikes can match the components of the Moto "Nemesis". However, I called two local shops and they bashed the bike. Can somone please tell me why these other bikes with lesser components are so much better?

Thanks