Mountain bike for a tall-big man

Volvoline

Aug 2, 2011
Hi ! I am a newb who is sick of his Turbocharged car and it's gas consumption so I decided to cut the car travel by HALF (because I can) and use the bike more.
I am a professional athlete so I hope to enjoy the ride
I will be using it on roads of dirt mostly, and try to bypass traffic via forests. Budget is around 500-800 dollars.
Now I am very tall and very big (6'4" 230LBS) so I need:

1. A very STRONG, BIG WHEELED set that won't break like toys and fit my size.

2. STYLING - It MUST look "monsterous" and "tactical" and not like a kid's bike. It must have some "Cool" factor to it.

3. Disc breaks, good seat, and again, tactical-built. This needs to be a work horse because i'd like to have some fun with it on weekends as well.

Companies I have available in my country: Jeep, Haro, Diamondback, Jamis, Marin, Felt, Norco, Scott and Cube.

So,

1. what should I look for (Hardware) In a bike that will fit me ?

2. Any specific model recommendation from the above companies ?

Number 2 will be cool, but I really want to know what to look for in terms of hardware when I go to the store, regardless of companies. Then I can just take the coolest looking good specced ones Thanks !

Thanks !

All of the companies that you have listed make good bikes. If it were me, I would take Diamondback out of the mix, as well as Felt. Felt is known for their road bikes but not for their MTBs. What you want to look for is a bike that is referred to as a 29er. This means that it has 29" wheels rather than the 26" wheels that is common on most MTBs. They are about as monstrous as you can get.