moving to the UK, but where??

Discussion in 'UK and Europe' started by weldingfellow, Apr 26, 2005.

1. weldingfellow

weldingfellow New Member

hi, i'm considering moving to the uk from canada, can anyone make a suggestion as to where is the best place to cycle and also keeping in mind the need to work. i'm a welder/fabricator if it makes a difference..:p i've been up to the yorkshire dales area, very nice, no work though, what about down south, bristol? devon? surrey?

thanks

Tags:

2. Roberto badgio

Roberto badgio New Member

I dunno about work - but lincolnshire is a pretty good place to live - the houses are cheap - in fact most things are cheaper - alot of the county is flat, there are hills - the wolds area (haven't really gone there yet - so can't tell you about them - only been into cycling the last year. I love it for cycling. but then again, it's not everyone's cup of tea - the pace of life is really slow here - I love it. very rural place. about 160 miles from london in lincoln.

3. gelyk

gelyk New Member

I'm an Australian living in Sheffield and have just gotten back into cycling. It's close to the peak district which has some fantastic cycling and plenty of people to train with. And depending on what you do you should be able to get work.

4. gelyk

gelyk New Member

Missed the welding bit. Sheffield has always been well known for its steel industry and whilst the industry has been scaled back quite a bit since the 80's there is still welding jobs and the like to be had.

5. beltabout

beltabout New Member

6. bobbingjim

bobbingjim New Member

i live in dorset myself which is next to devon, i live in a place called weymouth and it is not great for riding but there is lots of other good places to ride in dorset.ther is a place called puddletown forest which is quite good for a few downhill trails and abit of sigle track. i hope this has narowed your search down abit:eek:

7. Ironfist

Ironfist New Member