mtb or road pedals for a cyclocross

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by jkemp9, Mar 19, 2007.

1. jkemp9

jkemp9 New Member

First off, I'm a complete beginner and am trying to make my way into the cycling scene. I have a cyclocross bicycle, mentioned in the overhaul or buy new thread, and i think, for now, i'm going to get some new pedals and shoes.

I don't primarily use this bike for intense cyclocross courses or anything like that, but i do like to take it off road some. I want to put new pedals on the bike and am not sure which would be best, mtb or road pedals.

I was thinking that since i do occasionally go off road, i should get mtb pedals and shoes. Does this sound like the best idea? If so, what pedals are the best for about $50 new? I was looking at Forte Carve, Crank Brothers smarty, and Shimano pd 520. Which is the best of the three? Any suggestions on mtb shoes?

Thanks

Tags:

2. Scotty_Dog

Scotty_Dog New Member

MTB all the way. Crank Brother's products are top quality, and I really like my Eggbeater pedals, but have not seen or tried the Smarty pedals.

3. ontheroadid

ontheroadid New Member

I have mountain and road bikes, and I put mtn. bike pedals on both. The reason is that mountain bike cleats are recessed in the shoe, which makes it easier to walk around in them when I'm not on the bike. This was important to me since I prefer to commute to work on my road bike.

If you do get into cyclocross eventually, I would imagine that mountain bike shoes would be preferable for those times when you must dismount and carry the bike. But that's just an impression; I don't have any real experience with that type of biking. But I can't imagine trying to walk over any kind of off-road terrain in road cleats...