MTB positioning - high bars?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Kbh, May 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kbh

Kbh Guest

I'm well versed in the science/art of road bike positioning but I'm slightly puzzled by mountain
    bike positioning. I've been riding a 19" Rockhopper (I'm 6'2") for many years now, where the bars
    are about 6-8 inches below the saddle. I always thought this was more or less normal, and preferable
    for off-road riding as my weight was spread way out over the length of the bike. Now I notice that
    most mountain bikes I see have the bars level with the saddle or even higher than the saddle. Is
    this a recent phenomenon brought on by the prevalence of downhill bikes and hybrids? I know I know -
    go with what's comfortable for me yeah yeah yeah, but I'm just looking for some insight and
    commentary on the topic.

Thanks,

Kyle

Tags:

2. Ken

Ken Guest

"KBH" <[email protected]> wrote in news:[email protected]:

> Now I notice that most mountain bikes I see have the bars level with the saddle or even higher
    > than the saddle. Is this a recent phenomenon brought on by the prevalence of downhill bikes and

A lot of those guys with high handlebars do ride them mostly downhill. Then they get their mothers
    to drive them back to the top of the hill, or they walk most of the way. A lower, longer riding
    position will give you much better climbing speed, though at the expense of some high speed
    downhill control.

3. x

x Guest

RE/
    >I'm 6'2") for many years now, where the bars are about 6-8 inches below the saddle. I always
    >thought this was more or less normal, and preferable for off-road riding as my weight was spread
    >way out over the length of the bike. Now I notice that most mountain bikes I see have the bars
    >level with the saddle or even higher than the saddle. Is this a recent phenomenon brought on by the