Music on the trail?

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by Tacomaboy, Apr 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tacomaboy

Tacomaboy Guest

As a fair newbie, I find myself wondering what is the best way to have music while riding. I really
    dont want head phones - obviously dangerous. Is there any special head gear that has external small
    speakers? I imagine it would have to ride in a camelpack or a helmet, since you wouldn't hear
    something coming from the bike... whats the standard setup for this?

Tags:

2. David L

David L Guest

"TacomaBoy" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > As a fair newbie, I find myself wondering what is the best way to have
    music
    > while riding. I really dont want head phones - obviously dangerous. Is there any special head gear
    > that has external small speakers? I imagine
    it
    > would have to ride in a camelpack or a helmet, since you wouldn't hear something coming from the
    > bike... whats the standard setup for this?
    >
    >

I wouldn't recommend using any type of audio player on the trails, you need all of your senses wile
    riding. With some portable audio products there is a warning not to use them while operating a list
    of things, including bicycles.

Keep it real, and safe.

Dave

3. Mattb

Mattb Guest

music
    > while riding. I really dont want head phones - obviously dangerous. Is there any special head gear
    it
    > would have to ride in a camelpack or a helmet, since you wouldn't hear something coming from the
    >
    >

Much debated around these parts. I think the standard setup is humming to yourself.

I imgaine you could rig up some battery powered travel speakers (Sony and Creative both have these)
    to your portable music player and somehow mount the speakers on your 'Bak. If you come up with
    something, let us know. I'd be curious to see it. I don't imagine such a setup would sound all that