my butt hurts.....help!

pedalpushin

Feb 12, 2006
I just started riding to have fun and lose weight. I was encouraged by some friends at a local bike shop...."biking is a great way to drop weight and meet people" they said.....so i went out and bought my Del Sol LXI 6.2 comfort bike (that I love), well the weight loss part may be true, but due to bad weather, i have had to buy an idoor trainer, and i'm riding inside, so no people meeting as of yet....problem is, i'm not yet used to my bike seat and it is killing my sitting bones....i don't want to miss a ride because of a sore butt....any suggestions on how i can make my indoor riding easier on my butt?:eek:

pedalpushin said:
..problem is, i'm not yet used to my bike seat and it is killing my sitting bones....i don't want to miss a ride because of a sore butt....any suggestions on how i can make my indoor riding easier on my butt?:eek:

Is the seat height right?

Also, riding inside you tend not to shift around much. (There isn't much reason to.) Make a point to change your angles and how much you're leaning on your arms vs. your butt vs. your legs. Sometimes you can shift back a little and change angles a lot.

Geonz said:
Is the seat height right?

Also, riding inside you tend not to shift around much. (There isn't much reason to.) Make a point to change your angles and how much you're leaning on your arms vs. your butt vs. your legs. Sometimes you can shift back a little and change angles a lot.
thanks for your reply...the seat is at a perfect height, we worked really hard at the shop to make sure everything fit me well....i do feel however that my seat may be tilted forward just a tad.....i may make that adjustment and see what happens...i have been trying to keep all of my weight evenly distributed between my arms legs and butt.....and have been shifting a lil......the seat adjustment may be just the thing to do...thanks:D

Do you wear Bike Shorts? If not, go out and buy some good quality ones...