my butt hurts! (need seat advice)

Margaret

Mar 19, 2004
I could use everyone's advice on a saddle problem. I have a fairly new Novara Randonee with a Selle Royal Lookin Gel touring seat (unisex). After going on a twenty-mile ride this weekend, my sit bones are totally bruised and sore. I am pretty new to longer rides, although I've had this same problem in the past when I've gone on longer rides on vacation and so on, but since that was always on rented bikes, I didn't think much of it. Now that I have my own bike that is not just for quick rides around town and errands, etc. (and am starting to train for a week-long ride in Canada this summer and a cross-country trip next spring), I really want to get this saddle thing right.

I've done some research on the various posts on this forum and in other places, and looked at the Terry site and Hamoc site. I've never really experienced the major "girl parts" problems that other women seem to have (just some mild soreness that goes away quickly), and most of the posts and advice seem to deal with that. Does anyone else have this sit-bones problem? Any recommendations on which saddle fixed it for you? If it helps, I'm 5'6", @145 lbs., with relatively wider hips/pelvis, and most (if not all!) of my weight unfortunately around the butt and thigh.

Any advice or suggestions are much appreciated!

Saddles...oh jebus but they can ruin your entire day. My otherwise sweet mechanic moved mine during a tune up and 2 weeks later, I've finally got it back into the right place, so I sympathize.

Okay, what exactly is the problem with yours....Where is the support hitting your sit bones? Is the seat too wide? Too narrow? Is it too soft...gel seats can cause more hassle than they cure if they're compressing soft tissues.

Unfortunately, your hip measurement isn't going to tell you much about the sit bone measurements and body weight isn't going to be much of a factor in it.