My first 100 mile week!

t2tall

Apr 25, 2007
Okay, for those of you who ride regularly this isn't probably much of a big deal. For me however it represents a significant milestone.

Late last June I hit the scale at 389lbs. I couldn't walk up a flight of stairs without feeling like my chest was going to explode. High blood pressure, high cholesterol, and 41 years old, I was a time bomb waiting to go off. See pic.
meat389lbs.jpg

That was the point Where I decided a lifestyle change was overdue, and it wasn't happening by itself. I am now 84 lbs lighter, still have a way to go, but I'm doing it. About mid April I started riding again. I could manage about 10 -12 miles @ about an 11mph average speed. This week all of my rides have been in the area of 20 miles, my average speed is up to 14.5 to 15 mph. I'll never be a threat to George Hincapie. I'll probably never be much more than a bike path warrior and occasional commuter, but damn it I feel better than I have in years! Here I am after today's ride. Just thought I'd share.
meat305lbs.jpg

Well done, sir. You're not just losing weight, you're getting healthy and making the lifestyle changes necessary to stay healthy (unlike those who opt for the gastric bypass copout surgery). Keep it up!!

PS - You'll need a healthy heart with Randy Moss in town now!

Woah, that's an accomplishment and must have involved quite a bit of suffering.

Keep going, dude.

Congratulations! I've increased my weekly mileage for a similar reason, my weight started to go up. Thankfully I just barely pop over 200 lbs so I don't have too far to go to meet my weight for 6'. Still too heavy to ride 16 spoke wheels but its a commin! The best of luck to you and keep us posted as to how you're doin'. You are a bit of an inspiration to all of us; sort of the "Jared" of bicycling.