my first flat...ever

Dexter1225

Jun 30, 2006
alrighty...so i'm planning on going for a real short ride (30 minutes) and .5 miles into it i get a flat and i noticed taking a turn. my wheel must have rolled over the tire a bit.

got back to my room, found the flat doing a little inflating with the tire on the rim. removed the rim. tried to roll the tire off and i'm having a h*ll-of-a-time getting it off. do you really need tire clamps or something to get it off?

also, is there a maximum size a hole can be where you shouldn't patch it? i'm sure the tube is punctured and i was planning on just using my patching kit to repair it (i really don't have money for new tubes not to mention tires)

guess i'm just a real noob at this

thanks guys,

dex

Hi Dexter,

Sorry to hear about your flat! That sucks. I had just bought my bike and I let my little brother give it a go around the block, and the rear tire popped before he even got ten feet from the house. Luckily I bought used so I was planning on taking it in for a tune-up anyway, so it wasn't that big of a deal, but changing a tire is a tough job if you've never done it before. I got a new set of tires, and it took me about an hour to get 'em on properly the first time I tried it. A couple of tries later though and I had it down.

There are a few indespensable resources I've found though when looking at how to replace tires.

First place I looked was at my LBS' website. Specifically, their pages on how to replace a flat, how to patch a tube, and how to inflate a tire. They get really specific, and pictures are included!