My first road bike

Seung Ho Park

Feb 3, 2017
Milan, Italy (EU)
Hey all,

I'm new to cycling and also to this forum. In fact, I just registered 10 minutes ago. But that's not what we're here for. I'm here to ask some very important questions. So please take your time and respond to these questions in a honest manner. Thanks.

I'm looking for a bike between 500€ and 900€. I hear that the French manufacturer B'Twin makes great bikes. I'm currently looking into the B'Twin Triban 540 and the Ultra 700AF. They both have 6061 ALU frames and Shimano 105 groupset (2x11) for just under a thousand euros. So they are perfect. I will be using the bike for commuting, training and riding with friends (casually). I've looked on online sites but only found bikes that have the last generation Sora. And they cost up to 1000 euros. So for now I think the B'Twin bikes are the best for their price range. Shimano 105 for a 750 euro bike is really good, and the frame is very comfortable. I like the frame of the Ultra more than the Triban's frame because of the feel, and it's 150 euros cheaper.
What do you think? Would you recommend other bikes in that price point? Please answer honestly.

Thanks, Fritz_F

Hey all,

I'm new to cycling and also to this forum. In fact, I just registered 10 minutes ago. But that's not what we're here for. I'm here to ask some very important questions. So please take your time and respond to these questions in a honest manner. Thanks.