My helmet was stolen earlier this week

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

James Shugg

I have been commuting from Covent Garden to the City for three years now, never had an accident, but
of course I always wear a helmet.

Even though its only a 12-15 minute ride, in the summer when I arrive at the office I burst into a
head sweat.

But this Monday, I had to ride in hatless. No sweat on arrival. Same after the ride home. Missed the
bike shop by 5 minutes, so I had to ride in on Tuesday without a hat too. Again, no sweat on
arrival, even though the lights were in my favour and I made the journey from Drury Lane as far as
Bank before I had to stop.

Honestly, I have never ridden my bike without a helmet until this week, but I must say it is so much
nicer to have the wind in my hair.

Anyway, I am going to get another hat asap, but am wondering if anyone knows of a better ventilated
(but still sturdy) one than the Met I was using?

Cheers, James

[email protected] (James Shugg) wrote in message
news:<[email protected]>...

> I have been commuting from Covent Garden to the City for three years now, never had an accident,
> but of course I always wear a helmet.

Of course? You're likely to get an earful saying things like that around here.

> Anyway, I am going to get another hat asap, but am wondering if anyone knows of a better
> ventilated (but still sturdy) one than the Met I was using?

Rudy Project make one without a hard shell that's quite popular among roadies who want some
protection but dislike standard helmets. I've seen continental professionals wearing them too. It
looks a bit like an oversized cap turned backwards. I'm not sure how much good it would do you in a
conflict with a motor vehicle, but then I'd say the same thing about a standard helmet. Take a look
at http://www.rudyproject.com.my/product_menu_cyc01_str.html .

--
Dave...

I have a Briko, fantastic cooling system.

>
> [email protected] (James Shugg) wrote in message