Need A Big Bike

bigworm

Jul 13, 2003
Hey everyone! I am new to mountian biking and am looking to get into it. Here is my problem. I am very tall. I am 6'9". I think it is going to be difficult to find a bike that can fit me. I want to get something that won't break the bank, but is very good for the money. I am not looking to race or anything but want a nice bike that can be used for just about any situation. Anyone have any suggestions on brands/model that I should take a look at?

Wow, I would go to your local bike shop and have them fit you to a bike, which sould include some measurements not just standing over the bike and having you lift it off of the floor. Then ride as many as you can find until you find something that you like, and has good components, and fits into your price range. As for what brands? Giant, Cannondale, Speciliazed, Trek, Gary Fisher, Kona, and many more.....take your pick. Happy Hunting.

how much do you want to spend? i would have a look at the specialized big hit range, or, something like the giant nrs xtc, which has suspnesion that you can lock out so that you feel like you rididng a hardtail.

I don't want to spend more than probabally 1200 bucks. I tried a connondale jeckyll out and it was really nice, but out of my budget. Are cannondale's overpriced? I really liked it though. I haven't heard too many good things about them on this site, it seems like everyone is into Giants and Specialized.

Cannondale are a very good manufacturer, as are Specialized and Giant. Giant often score very well for value, because they are the biggest bike producer in the world, and therefore can buy components in bulk beyond the dreams of most companies, and get cheap prices.