Need adivse on Rims

dalton565

Jul 20, 2004
hey, im pretty new to cycling and my knowledge on components isnt the best so bear with me.

Im currently using vuelta crosser rims with continental GP 3000 tyres

rim dimension is 700C

my current rims are Vuelta Crosser, shown here

http://www.cyberspeiche.de/fotos/vuexrpl1.jpg

they where on the bike when i got it so im not sure of how good they are.

Anyway i was out a cycle a few days past, and heard a twang and felt a slap on the back on my left leg, i looked down only to discover that one of the spokes had snapped and was spinning round and clapping me with every revolution.

I got out and ripped it off with some difficulty and got home fine. Whats the best thing for me to do, will the rim still be stable with one less spoke. Or do i need to replace the whole rim, as they seem to be a very hard to rim to get hold of.

And are vuelta crosser wheels good or bad in the cycling world, anyone got any idea.

Anyway any information on the subject will be appreciated

thanks
rick

dalton565 said:
hey, im pretty new to cycling and my knowledge on components isnt the best so bear with me.

rim dimension is 700C

Anyway i was out a cycle a few days past, and heard a twang and felt a slap on the back on my left leg, i looked down only to discover that one of the spokes had snapped and was spinning round and clapping me with every revolution.

I got out and ripped it off with some difficulty and got home fine. Whats the best thing for me to do, will the rim still be stable with one less spoke. Or do i need to replace the whole rim, as they seem to be a very hard to rim to get hold of.

And are vuelta crosser wheels good or bad in the cycling world, anyone got any idea.

thanks
rick

How many miles ridden?
How much do you weigh?
How old is the bicycle/wheel?
What will it cost to be repaired?

I wouldn't ride any further than I needed to with 1 in 24 spokes missing. It is harder on the rim and surrounding spokes.