Need Advice on my Training!

jsirabella

Jan 1, 2005
First I want to say thank you in advance for reading this post.

My background is that I have been riding as part of my gym routine as I never had the time for cardio with the weight training so I used it for commuting. Started to enjoy the rides alot and started to take alot of spinning classes. Got so addicted that I upgrdaed to a hybrid cannondale and made my goal of doing a tour from NYC to Boston and than NYC to Baltimore. I did some preparation, put in some miles and did both rides each taking two days and than did a couple centuries like the Transalt and MS Ride.

I than decided I wanted to get more serious, gave my cannondale to a friend, bought a Cervelo R3 with the goal of my first race. I also through ebay put together a Lemond Poprad for training with alot of mixed up parts. Anyway all my riding was very unplanned. I decided I had poor handling skills and needed to be more planned so when I bought the bike I found a coach. Just from a couple sessions I felt my handling skills went way up and he was also nice enough to send me a plan for a week by week training. He knows I like the gym so worked that in.

On Mondays, Gym, Tuesdays, 2 Hour Tempo, Ride with 35 min Intervals, Tempo 70-75% Intervals 80% with 70-75 rpm, wed, gym, Thursday, same as Tuesday, Friday rest day, Sat, 4 hour endurance ride, 2 x 50 min intervals 60-65% intensity with 95-100 rpm and Intervals at 75-80% with 75-80 rpm, sunday, 3 hour endurance ride, 65-70% intensity wth 90-95 rpm.