Need advice on road bikes

scho047

Sep 4, 2006
Hi,

I am in process of upgrading to a proper road bike from Specialized Sirrus which I had for few months. I guess it was a cheap way to taste the waters of the sport to see if I like it....and the bottom line is that I would like to upgrade to take cycling more seriously.
One of the bike I am looking to get at this stage is Scott Speedster S30. Obviously I am a newbie to this whole road cycling scene and I realise that sky is the limit when it comes to how much you can spend. So my budget is around $1500 NZ dollars....and got a good deal from one of the local bike shop.
Would be much appreciated if some of you with experience and knowledge in this matter could give me some pointers. Thanks

I's be slow to move away from Speciliazed. I have a Bianchi, 2 Trek's and a Specialized. I bought my Specialized as a 'winter bike' that I wouldn't mind riding in poor weather and attached to a trainer. It's turned out to be my favourite in most ways, it climbs well and basically feels really good. It pretty much makes me want to ride more than the others. I would give the Specialized at your budget a good look before you go for anything else. Personally (and it is only my personal view!) I would steer clear of the flash, 'premium' brands, because I would say you stop paying for components and development and just pay for a badge. Nice badge won't help you get up any hills.

Thanks for your comments its much appreciated....and will also take that whole issue of big brand into consideration when making my final decision....
but just to let you know...i am upgrading from a hybrid bike so i think it will be much faster...

OK, $1,500 NZD ... that's about $250 AUD... but seriously...

I did the same thing. I bought a budget bike to see if I like roadies, and then bought a better bike. The good thing is I learned much more that just whether I like road bikes or not. I also learned about proper fit.