Need advice on training for a century ride.

Bolo Grubb

Apr 26, 2004
Can anyone recommend a good book or web site to help set up my training?

How long should I have to train to be able to do a century? Etc, etc…

I am fairly new to riding and so far my longest ride has been 30 miles. I know I have a long way to go in order to ride a century but have no ideas on training.

There is a Century in Nov and on in April. If possible I would like to ride both. If I do not have enough time to train for the one in Nov then I will skip it or go for one of the shorter options they have for that ride.

Thank you for you help

Originally posted by Bolo Grubb
Can anyone recommend a good book or web site to help set up my training?

How long should I have to train to be able to do a century? Etc, etc…

I am fairly new to riding and so far my longest ride has been 30 miles. I know I have a long way to go in order to ride a century but have no ideas on training.

There is a Century in Nov and on in April. If possible I would like to ride both. If I do not have enough time to train for the one in Nov then I will skip it or go for one of the shorter options they have for that ride.

Thank you for you help

The Cyclist's Training Bible by Joe Friel has some good stuff in it.

victor

my main goal is to complete the century, having never done one before.

I have plenty of ( I think). My first Century is schedule for Nov 20.

I can ride on the weekends and during the week. Although I work Monday through Friday so I have to train around that, but should not be a problem.

This last weekend I did 20 miles on Both Saturday and Sunday and felt like I could have gone longer but did not want to over do it, just getting started. Based on information from here, other web sites and some of the suggested books, I plan on increasing my "long ride" mileage each week by 10%