Need Aero wheels

tafi

Jul 31, 2003
G'day folks
I've been tooling around on American Classic 420s wheels for the last 8 months for races and have found them wanting in stiffness, responsiveness and strength. I am continually getting them trued. So I am seriously considering purchasing a different set of race wheels.
I'm pretty sure I'd rather stay with clincher wheels and judging the profiles of most of the races I do, I think that something more aerodynamic and stiff than light would be better.
The main ones I have been looking at are Zipp 404 and Bontrager Race Xtra lite Aeros.

I've heard that the 404s had warping problems and after sales customer service issues, but I don't know many people who ride the Bontragers. Are there any views on the strength and outright speed of these wheels?

Cheers

Originally posted by tafi
The main ones I have been looking at are Zipp 404 and Bontrager Race Xtra lite Aeros.

I've heard that the 404s had warping problems and after sales customer service issues, but I don't know many people who ride the Bontragers. Are there any views on the strength and outright speed of these wheels?
The Zipp clincher quality issues were reportedly horrendous, but confined to the pre-2003 models. The 2003 and 2004 versions are a significant re-design (and a few grams heavier, it's worth noting), and by every account I've read, pretty trouble free. If they're in your price range and you're committed to clinchers, they're probably worth a closer look.

I've never done serious time on aero Zipps, but as much as any wheels seem to give themselves to high speed, Zipps are pretty legendary.

The Mavic Cosmic Carbones get a lot of flak for being alloy (and not carbon after all) and quite heavy, but they're impressively sturdy and, like Zipps, well-designed for flaming cruising speeds. I forget how their rim depth compares to 404s, but they're definitely in the same category.