Need bike purchase advise!

Atlbiker32

Jan 19, 2010
Ok, so I'm still a beginner road cyclist and just sold my 2005 Trek 1000. I am looking to upgrade and here are my options:

1. 2004 Felt F65 - aluminum frame, carbon fork and seat stays. 105 components (front derailleur, brakes, cranks) except Ultegra rear derailleur. Wheels are Velomax Circuit TC3.

2. 2005 Giant TCR Composite 3 - Carbon fiber composite frame, seatpost. 105 components except brakes. Wheels are Xero XSR-3. I think the cranks on the Giant are TruVativ Elita GXP.

I've ridden both bikes and the "fit" feels good for each even though the frame geometry is quite different. The Giant is about 1.5 lbs lighter. Both are being sold for $650. My questions - which one is the better bike and does the price seem reasonable for each bike? Information and opinions are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

alienator said:
Which one makes you the most excited? Buy that one.

Thanks for your response!

That's just it, the Felt made me excited until I saw the Giant, which also made me excited. You see, I am 6'4" with a 34" inseam. The Felt is a 63cm frame - bikes that big don't come up for sale often. I was ready to get it when the Giant (an XL frame) became available.

Which would you say is the better deal at $650?

Atlbiker32 said:
Thanks for your response!

That's just it, the Felt made me excited until I saw the Giant, which also made me excited. You see, I am 6'4" with a 34" inseam. The Felt is a 63cm frame - bikes that big don't come up for sale often. I was ready to get it when the Giant (an XL frame) became available.

Which would you say is the better deal at $650?

It's a toss up. The wheels on the Felt are better, as well as the BB. Truvative BB's have historically had some issues.

Are these bikes new or used?