Need cycling coach expertise!!!!!!

lweave2

Oct 27, 2004
Hello-
Need some input!!!!I've been riding bicycles for just over 20 years & never had an injury. 3 years ago, finished a 70 mile bike ride and my right IT band was so inflammed I could barely clip out of my right pedal. For the last 3 years I have seen Orthopedic sports medicine doctor. My MRI showed condromaylasia ( thinning of the cartlidge behind the patella ). Went out to see a PT out in Colorado, who fitted me and said that I have a leg length discrepency. My right leg is 5 mm shorter than my left leg. He shimmed my Look pedal and flaired the cleat out a little to take the pressure off my IT band. My porforis(sp?) butt muscle quit hurting but my right leg was still hurting laterally.

Finally found a doctorate level PT here in Atlanta, he is the PT for our olympic rifle team and he has 20 years of experience. He took one look at my body mechanics and said he knew what it was. He said that my right foot over-pronates which then causes my tibia to rotate which tightens my IT band which pulls my patella over to the lateral side whic then moves up and puts strain on my porforis muscle(my butt muscle). He said that this is a coomon pattern type overuse injury for someone with an over-pronation problem. So, he is now making me a custom walking orthodic and a cycling custom orthodic. My question is are we on the right track? What do yall think about his solution? I ran for 15 years before I got into cycling and I had custom orthodics for really bad shin-splints. Please write me back with your insight!!!!
Thanks-A-million!!!!!!!!
lisa.......

Lisa