Need expert advice on parts

Tw00sh

Aug 1, 2009
I am really new to cycling. I have a Wellington 1.0 bike that I purchased about 8 months ago to give it a try. I have a real bad back so I can only ride about 15-25 miles a day at about 15 - 20 MPH. I do find it very rewarding an would like to upgrade the bike a little to cut down on the road vibration. I considered getting a whole new bike, but I just not sure that it is worth it with my current distance and speed.

I want to purchase a new carbon fork but have no idea what size is on this bike. There is no mention of size on the page I linked above. If I cannot get the original size, can I get a different size and matching stem in the same size. If so, what would be the recommended matching set size.

I also want to get new wheels. Are the hubs of the wheels all basically the same size or do I have to look for a certain width. I realise the diamater is 700c, but what about the hub in the middle.

My saddle is not very light. Should I go for a smaller saddle with the cut in the back. Is this cut even worth having, or is this mainly for riders who want to go long distances. Also, I tend to slide up on my saddle, should I adjust my saddle up in the front slightly to prevent this? If so, I would need an adjustable seat post.

I want to purchase the parts online as they are much cheaper. I plan to have my local bike shop install the fork.

Tw00sh said:
I am really new to cycling. I have a Wellington 1.0 bike that I purchased about 8 months ago to give it a try. I have a real bad back so I can only ride about 15-25 miles a day at about 15 - 20 MPH. I do find it very rewarding an would like to upgrade the bike a little to cut down on the road vibration. I considered getting a whole new bike, but I just not sure that it is worth it with my current distance and speed.