Need Help choosing a bike for spring triatholon, and mountain biking - list provided

Fit Force

Apr 26, 2011
Hello, I am fairly new to biking, and am overwhelmed by the many options and price ranges out there.

I need some expert advice on my decision. I am considering buying used bikes, but want to narrow down my search.

I basically want to use this bike as a mountain bike for trail riding, but occasionally want to take it out for sprint triathlons. I am doing a spring triathlon soon, and need a bike. I cannot afford to buy 2 bikes so looking for a good mountain bike that is light, and made of quality parts. This is also why I am buying used, as I cannot afford more than 300… unfortunately.

A local bike shop rep recommended I buy a “Reebok” Rush for 250 CDN. Good?
I have no clue what to get, someone please sway my decision!!

There are some used bikes that locals are selling. Here are links.
[SIZE=14.0pt] [/SIZE]
[SIZE=14.0pt]1) 21 Speed Bianchi Eros Road Bike - RX100 - $350[/SIZE]
For sale is Bianchi road / touring bike
21.5" (55cm) Tange triple butted frame
Full Shimano RX 100 group

2) Kona Fire mountain
[SIZE=14.0pt]http://toronto.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-sell-sports-bikes-KONA-FIRE-MOUNTAIN-BIKE-18-W0QQAdIdZ277426643[/SIZE]

3) Miele road bike - 14 speed - $220
24lbs
As follows:
Crank, Brake Calipers, Pedals, Brake Leavers, Rear Derail - Shimano 600
Rims - Ambrosio 19 - Aero Dynamic
Frame - Ishiwata Chrome Moly Double Butted Tubes, Forks and Stays
Saddle - Serfas reactive gel
[FONT= &quot] [/FONT]
[FONT= &quot]4) GARY FISCHER MOUNTAIN BIKE [/FONT]- $170
[SIZE=12.0pt] [/SIZE]
[SIZE=12.0pt]My Bike is in good condition however I am moving out West and looking to part ways. It is a very reliable bike and comes with Rock Shox. It is a 21 speed with quickshift gears and quick release tires (front and back) for easy transport and or storage.[/SIZE]

5) Columbia Mountain Bike
http://toronto.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-sell-sports-bikes-Colombia-Mountain-Bike-W0QQAdIdZ277664196