Need help finding brand of vintage frame!

Lou_Fg2

Mar 5, 2010
So I got this old steel frame from my uncle. No brand anywhere besides a serial number and a "72" by the seat post clamp. Im trying to figure out the brand so I can get specs for the botttom bracket/crankset. or how else can i find out which size bb to buy as well as other parts? Where is it measured from etc...

Im a newbie when it comes to road bikes. Any help is greatly appreciated...

Ps. Frame has been sanded and is on its second coat of paint :D

Take the frame to your LBS and let them figure it out. That is why they make the big bucks:rolleyes:.

Lou_Fg2 said:
So I got this old steel frame from my uncle. No brand anywhere besides a serial number and a "72" by the seat post clamp. Im trying to figure out the brand so I can get specs for the botttom bracket/crankset. or how else can i find out which size bb to buy as well as other parts? Where is it measured from etc...

Im a newbie when it comes to road bikes. Any help is greatly appreciated...

Ps. Frame has been sanded and is on its second coat of paint :D
There's a high probabity that the "72" which is stamped on the seatpost clamp indicates the ANGLE of the lug ...

Measure the shell ... if it is 68mm then you are half-way home with regard to replacing the crank & BB.

If the Fates are kind to you, then the bike is a Raleigh with an English threaded BB shell.

If the Fates are not kind to you, then the frame has a French threaded BB shell (68mm wide) OR an odd-ball, proprietary Raleigh BB (71mm wide) with proprietary threading.

Presuming that there is a crankset/etc. currently on the bike, you can almost eliminate the possibiltiy that the BB is French if the pedals are NOT French threaded. That is, if the DRIVESIDE pedal has a metric threading, then the BB probably has French threading, too.

BTW. The easiest way to find out what brand the frame is would be to simply ASK your uncle!