Need help on purchasing a road bike

caideN

Jul 14, 2007
Hi everyone, I am new and need some help. I've been riding a lot lately with cheap mountain bikes and I hate how it was heavy and hard to ride. Bur now i am going to purchase a road bike that fits me, I'm 17 years old 5.8 in height and weigh about 135lb. I'm not sure what to get because i am completly new to road biking. I have a budget between $300 - $500 USD. I really dont mind if its new or used since I'm new. Can anyone please recommend some bikes or some good sites where I can purchase my first bike? :)

Thanks everyone.

Im new to road biking as well, and I will say ive been very satisfied with my Specialized Allez triple. the extra chainring helps me get up hills (bit overweight here) and it only cost me 524 closeout brand new in October '06. Im about the same height, and im riding a 54cm frame.

Trek also has some very nice bikes out, but for some reason specialized catch my eye more as far as road bikes are concerned. You should be able to pick up a good used bike in the 3-500 range pretty easily, however i almost guarantee its gonna be 8-speed, not 9 or 10 as the current ones are. unless you plan on racing, it probably wont matter. Might want to make sure the front fork is carbon fiber, it will help soak up the bumps better than an aluminum fork. i was shocked how nice the ride on my bike is, being used to mountain bikes with suspension forks.

Find a local bike shop that treats you well. My bike shop is about 25-30 miles away, its the closest, but they treat me exceptionally well. They care about what I want, not what they want to sell me, and thats the most important thing. Your gonna pay a bit more for the service, but its worth it. Tenfold.

good luck, and keep spinning :)

thanks mongooseboy any more advice? i'm still looking for a good looking road bike with over 20 speed so i can ride up easy.

caideN said: