Need help to decide on HRM

Lazy legs

Feb 27, 2002
I've decided to get myself a HRM for my birthday, my mother-in-law is going to the States (Chicago) in July and I convinced her to bring me a HRM when she comes back.
I've never used one before and am totally clueless as to what to get and what features to opt for. The only thing I know for sure is that it must be a Polar! (They have good backing in South Africa)
I'm a social rider and basically only cycle to stay fit and for the fun off it. I had a heart operation about 3 years ago so I need to keep an eye on it.
I just need something that's not to expensive and maybe being able to get it in the States I can get it a bit cheaper than over here.
If there are members in the States that can help with prices and shops in the Chicago area please help, I tried the Polar site in the USA but it doesn't give prices?

get one of the polar monitors with integrated cycling functions

S150, S510 or S710 if you can stretch to it!

all the polar monitors are good but the top end ones are fantastic, you can download your graphs and keep a diary of training zones, calories distance etc

If you don't need the PC connectivity, interval training etc. type things of the S-series the M-series monitors are pretty good.

Keep in mind though there's a bit of a price overlap between the upper end of the M-series and the lower end of the S.

Hi Lazy Legs

Polar S series definitely the way to go. I would however try and check the prices in the states compared to here. Polar are pretty strict on controls and I remember checking out a S210 in Austria a few years back which turned out to be the same price back home in SA. Just thought you needed to know.

See Ya in the dirt sometime.