Need Help With Combined Gear Shifters

kaizerchief

Oct 9, 2015
hey guys im new to the road cycling scene and i got my first urata road bike with drop bars recently. however i was getting the cheaper bike due to budget constraints so it came with thumbshifters. ill be looking to upgrade it to combined shifters in the future something like ergopower (just an example). my bike has 2x7 gear system and i was wondering if it was possible to jus get the gear shifters or i would need to replace my gear system to 2x8 or something that would suit the new levers. im open to recomendations preferably in the cheaper range

Reactions: CypemernAppef
10-Speed Campagnolo shifters MATED WITH (most ... not sure about how well the Shimano TOURNEY shifters will function) 8-/9-speed Shimano rear derailleur EQUALS 7-/8-speed Shimano indexing ...

[sharedmedia=gallery:albums:255214]​
Campagnolo shifters will work with almost any cable-actuated front derailleur.

oh i see. thanks for the help. but how can u tell from the table that it would give and 7 speed equivalent?

7-speed & 8-speed Cog spacing are close enough (i.e., the same for all practical purposes) to one another -- AND, the ramping on the Cogs greatly facilitates shifting -- that you can use use 8-speed indexed shifters with 7-speed rear Freewheels & 7-speed Cassettes ...

BTW. You could choose a set of 11-speed Campagnolo shifters and attach the rear derailleur cable at 9 o'clock ("old Dura Ace") to match 7-/8-speed indexing.

oh. my bike now uses a shimano sis tourney could i keep using that? also what does the pitch and cable column of the table mean?

kaizerchief said:
oh i see. thanks for the help. but how can u tell from the table that it would give and 7 speed equivalent?
BTW. If you look at the 'Campag 11' line then you will see that 7-speed & 8-speed ('S7/8') share the same box ...

kaizerchief said: