Need help with my pedalling

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

Nate

I'm new to riding, I learned to ride last year at age 46. Here's my problem - riding on a typical 2
lane road, pedalling along, when a car approaches me, either from the front or behind, my legs want
to stop turning the pedals until the vehicle passes. How can I learn to ignore the traffic and just
keep pedalling?

Nate

In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
> I'm new to riding, I learned to ride last year at age 46. Here's my problem - riding on a typical
> 2 lane road, pedalling along, when a car approaches me, either from the front or behind, my legs
> want to stop turning the pedals until the vehicle passes. How can I learn to ignore the traffic
> and just keep pedalling?

Practice. To start, try slowing down your pedaling, rather than stopping completely.

--
David Kerber An optimist says "Good morning, Lord." While a pessimist says "Good Lord,
it's morning".

Remove the ns_ from the address before e-mailing.

"archer" <ns_archer1960@ns_hotmail.com> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
> > I'm new to riding, I learned to ride last year at age 46. Here's my problem - riding on a
> > typical 2 lane road, pedalling along, when a car approaches me, either from the front or behind,
> > my legs want to stop turning the pedals until the vehicle passes. How can I learn to ignore the
> > traffic and just keep pedalling?
>
> Practice. To start, try slowing down your pedaling, rather than stopping completely.
>

Or go for the cycling equivalent of chucking junior in the deep end, and ride a fixed gear bike
for a bit!

Tim.

---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free. Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.489 / Virus Database: 288 - Release Date: 10/06/03

"Nate" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:p[email protected]...