Need help with saddle.... perineum getting pinched

carsnoceans

Jul 24, 2010
First and foremost- I am a newbie to cycling and probably not as knowledgable as most of you. In other words, NEWBIE ALERT!! ;)

Hi folks

I am a newbie cyclist with a Trek 7.2 FX and stock saddle (whatever it came with). Although I got *** last summer but havent done more than 200miles on it!! Biggest reason being, my groin would get numb after 30mins of riding so I started avoiding it due to discomfort. Some google research showed that I am probably putting a lot of pressure on my perineum so need some help in fixing this issue if I am to continue cycling.

I am a bit overweight (225lbs, 6ft) so the stock saddle is probably a bit small for me. Before starting a ride, I keep the saddle completely horizontal but, either the saddle is being shifted due to my heavy weight or I am resting my body a lot on the seat.... I am not quite sure. As much as I enjoy cycling, discomfort and scare factor are a bit much with this issue. Research shows noseless saddles as a solution but there are not a lot of peer reviews on those. Also, some folks mentioned that they take away the ability to control/ steer from hips. Any ideas/tips/comments would be very helpful here. Saw some recommendations for Selle saddles but they are a bit expensive for a beginner like me.

PS - I also tried spinning in a gym. Same damn problem! Help will be much appreciated.

Cheers
CnO

I hate to say it but numbness is a problem that might be more weight related. With your current saddle try to lower the nose of your saddle in small increments. Or, you can try to push your saddle back on it's rails.
The saddle should not be moving at all during your ride, what is happening is that you are sliding on the saddle.