Need recommendations on a new computer

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by ecandl, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. ecandl

    ecandl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought my wife a bike and I plan on giving/dumping my old computer on her. I think it is a Cateye w/ cadence. It works fine but I would like 3-4 items on the display and it only shows 2 items. My wish list is to pay around $30 give or take, 3-4 items per screen,rear wheel speed sensor for kk trainer, and stem mount. I like stem mount for the few tt's and tri's I seem to end up doing each summer. I'm not worried about cadence.

    Planet bike 9.0 has 4 items in price range but is bar mount and front wheel mount.

    Blackburn Delphi 2.0 is in the price range and has 3 items and is bar mount - possibly rear wheel.

    I appreciate your help/ideas.
     
    Tags:


  2. MattAussie66

    MattAussie66 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most of the Echowell range have 3 items on the screen at the same time
    and they are in your price range.

    I have an F2 with rear wheel sensor and cadance, my ususal screen is
    cadance, speed and average speed, but there are several combinations of
    cadance, average cadance, speed, average speed, ride time,
    time and distance. Also a big plus - it's water proof :)
    I'm not sure of the stem mount option.

    regards,
    Matt
     
  3. Bigbananabike

    Bigbananabike Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    15
    If you're going to pass on to your wife your Cateye comp and its an Astrale 8(which it reads like) - don't. Or get one for yourself:)

    Cadence is very helpful - you'll miss it if its gone. To my mind its more important than many of the other things that another computer will show.
    I've sold about 30 Astrale 8s and never had a problem with one
    Easy to use
    Stem mounting it is possible - carefully cut the handlebar mount belt off and glue the base part on the stem.

    BBB:)
     
  4. ecandl

    ecandl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you kidding? What type of glue would hold without making a mess? I have some Gorilla glue and Super glue. What do you do when the computer fails? I really am curious.
     
  5. Aushiker

    Aushiker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    G'day

    I have been pretty happy with my Sigma BC 1606L. I particular like that I can use a second bike kit and thus use the same computer on two bikes.

    I am not sure if this is in your price range but.

    Regards
    Andrew
     
  6. Bigbananabike

    Bigbananabike Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    15
    A second bike kit can be got for a Cateyes Astrale 8 too:) .



     
  7. Bigbananabike

    Bigbananabike Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    15
    I used Araldite which works well & doesn't expand like Gorilla glue. It doesn't look like its been glued on:)
    Sorry but I can't load a photo.

    Having sold around 30 Astrale 8 I've only had one with a problem - mine. Having used it in all weathers for 14 000kms it packed up. I got a new head unit for it.
    See roadbikereview.com

    I know some of the other people who have them and they're still using them - 3 & 4 years later.



     
Loading...
Loading...