Need serious help with BB, crankset, and cassette/cog

jodom

Dec 17, 2012
This is my first build so I'm not completely sure on some things.

I have this wheelset bought for my fixie: http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/22022-365_ORGWS0-3-Parts-75-Wheelsets/Origin-8-Fixed/Fixed-Wheelset-offer.htm?utm_source=SLI&utm_medium=datafeed&utm_campaign=FTP&zmam=3075515&zmas=1&zmac=43&zmap=22022

The main problems I have had with trying to find this stuff is that I can't find a bottom bracket and crankset that will work. I also am completely lost on the whole cassette/cog thing. I really just need to know what cassette/cog, bottom bracket, and crankset that will work with that to make it a fixie. The bottom bracket width is 70mm.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Originally Posted by jodom .

This is my first build so I'm not completely sure on some things.

I have this wheelset bought for my fixie: http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/22022-365_ORGWS0-3-Parts-75-Wheelsets/Origin-8-Fixed/Fixed-Wheelset-offer.htm?utm_source=SLI&utm_medium=datafeed&utm_campaign=FTP&zmam=3075515&zmas=1&zmac=43&zmap=22022

The main problems I have had with trying to find this stuff is that I can't find a bottom bracket and crankset that will work. I also am completely lost on the whole cassette/cog thing. I really just need to know what cassette/cog, bottom bracket, and crankset that will work with that to make it a fixie. [COLOR= #ff0000]The bottom bracket width is 70mm[/COLOR].

[COLOR= #000000]A[/COLOR][COLOR= #ff0000] 70mm wide BB shell [/COLOR]suggests that you probably have a frame which has an ITALIAN threaded ([COLOR= #ff0000]36x1[/COLOR]) BB shell ... there may be exceptions of other types which also have a 70mm wide shell and yet are not Italian threaded, but the chances are low ...

If so, then you can use almost ALMOST any type of Crankset for which there is a matching Italian Threaded BB ...