Need some advice...Trek 7.2 FX, Scott Sportster P5, Cnnondale Quick 5

smcdowell47

Jul 10, 2009
I know there are a numerous amount of the same posts here, but I like getting everyone else input.

I am just getting back into bike riding since a kid and need some helpful advice on what others think of the bikes I have listed. I am 6'2 230 lbs so not a small guy. I want to ride to get back into shape and plan on riding to work which is only 6-7 miles round trip. I would like to hear your opinions on the following bikes:
Trek 7.2 FX-$450
Cannondale Quick 5-$500
Scott Sportster P5-$410
Gary Fisher Nirvana-$490
Specialized Sirius-$500

I would rather not spend over $500 since I am only a teacher/coach but want to get the most for my money. I also don't want to out grow this bike if I really take up riding. I plan on mainly riding on paved trails and the road, but also want to get something that might hold up if a light off road trail comes up. I would appreciate any help that you might be able to offer. . Thanks

Hey, I am almost the some size as you and just got back into biking also.
I went with the Trek 7100 for the more upright feel, and the front suspension is nice, but both the 7.x and the 7x00 series felt great.
Nothing against the others, I have no experience.
I got mine with a bunch of goodies{computer, toe straps, bar ends, mirror, etc...} for under $500, I know the 7.2 would be an upgrade so there wouldn't be as many goodies under $500 but, yeah.
I am not attempting to give advise, I know I don't know enough, just saw we were the same size and thought I would relay my experience.
Good luck and have fun.

I, like you, am just getting back into biking. I'm also about your size. I appreciated the response you received.

I am currently in the market and my goals for rides are similar.

Do you plan to buy from a bike shop or from one of the big box stores?

thanks for any news.
Jack

Krusty, thanks for the input I appreciate it