need some advise on replacing road bike drop bar

Sohrab

Aug 24, 2012
Hallo everyone

I hope this thread finds you all well..I am rather new here to this forum - my first submission - and for that matter somewhat new to cycling as a hobby and sport.

I recently purchased a road bike (being a student, I couldn't really afford anything more elaborate and/or professional) - the GMC Denali 700 series road bike. It's a nice bike and has done me well thus far...

However, I am trying to make some modifications to it and am rather clueless on how to go about it...hence appeal to your wise offerings :)

So, I want to replace the existing Dropbar that came with the bike with a Base Bar (like the Svet model from Profile Design for instance), in order to subsequently fit in a nice clip on set of aerobars, too.

This poses some challenges, at least to a newbie like myself: This means that I need to replace the shifters along with the break leavers since I won't be able to (don't really want to either) reuse them with a new base bar/aerobar. As far as I know, on base bars, the break leavers are attached on the tip end of the handle bar, and the shifters are mounted on the tip end of each aerobar handle...which really makes sense.

So question is this: is this project even possible? the GMC Denali 700c is a 21 speed bike I think, so do they make shifters for 21 speed that will fit in aerobars? if so, how streamline is the process to replace the existing drop bar of the bike with a base bar/aero bar along with shifters and break leavers?

I am sure this could have been written shorter and in more meaningful way, but I wanted to do justice both for the first post and my own confusion :)

cheers

I don't know of anyone that manufactures a 7-speed TT index shifter...someone else here might know of such a thing. Alfeng, for one.