Need some help on picking my first road bike...

texmex

Jul 28, 2005
Hey y'all! I really want to get back into cycling (I used to do it...kind of. The bike I had was crappy:p ) but I'm not sure what bike I should get. I have decided I want to get a road bike and I want it to be a good one, but I'm a poor college student so I don't have the money for the best bike out there. I want it to be a bike that will be easy to start out with, but one that will also last me a good amount of time as I improve (That is why I have ruled out a hybrid). I did recently get a job at a bike shop, so I will be able to get some sweet discounts, but I still am looking for an inexpensive, but GOOD bike. hah, this is all kind of scattered, so I apologize if this isn't clear.

texmex said:
Hey y'all! I really want to get back into cycling (I used to do it...kind of. The bike I had was crappy:p ) but I'm not sure what bike I should get. I have decided I want to get a road bike and I want it to be a good one, but I'm a poor college student so I don't have the money for the best bike out there. I want it to be a bike that will be easy to start out with, but one that will also last me a good amount of time as I improve (That is why I have ruled out a hybrid). I did recently get a job at a bike shop, so I will be able to get some sweet discounts, but I still am looking for an inexpensive, but GOOD bike. hah, this is all kind of scattered, so I apologize if this isn't clear.
What is inexpensive to you? $300? $500?

texmex said:
I am hoping to spend no more than $500 on the bike. $700 at most..
Giant OCR3 ~ $750.00
Specialized Allez (double and triple) ~ $800.00
Trek Pilot 1.2 ~ $770.00