Need some training help for my trip to Pyrenees

Draft

Dec 16, 2009
I worked out hard last year and got into a better cycling group this year. I have been riding for only 4 years. This new group(which I barely keep up with) planned a trip to the pyrenees to ride many of the big climbs about 500 miles and 75Kfeet in 6 days. I just bought a cyclops trainer and I'm looking for any and all input on how I can train for the pyrenees. thanks .

Well at some point you're gonna want to get out and do some long sustained climbs, but you can definitely get a head start this winter on the trainer. Search the web and these forums for information on Sweet Spot Training (SST) as a great method to build FTP (sustainable power) on an indoor trainer. Check out the first twenty or thirty pages of this thread to see how it works in practice: http://www.cyclingforums.com/cycling-training/314849-its-killing-me-but.html

Bottom line, climbing is 'mostly' about high sustainable power relative to your weight. So work to keep your weight down at reasonable levels and work to bring your sustainable power up via focused work on the trainer. But there's still the specificity part including the mental, gearing, torque and pacing aspects of climbing sustained grades so when the weather warms up you should try to get out and climb some longer hills.

Good luck,
-Dave

Draft said:
I worked out hard last year and got into a better cycling group this year. I have been riding for only 4 years. This new group(which I barely keep up with) planned a trip to the pyrenees to ride many of the big climbs about 500 miles and 75Kfeet in 6 days. I just bought a cyclops trainer and I'm looking for any and all input on how I can train for the pyrenees.