Needing training advice

Cdn Rookie

Feb 12, 2006
Not sure if my training is heading the right way.I am a rookie in training for a any events. I been training to do 4 charity rides 3 of them is 150km and one of them is 2 day total 400km. The 400km event is in August and the other 3 is in June and July. I just started getting serious in road cycing the past year 1 1/2 . Last year I road for about 1500kms from April to Oct at a pace of 20 km

I have been training indoor for the past 2 month 5 days a week on the I-Magic 40km a session non stop. until the weather gets better outdoors. Once the weather does get better I planing to train 3 nights a week for aprox 50km a night and the weekend planing to to do 75-100 km a day

My stats are as follow for the past 2 month
avg pwr 138
avg cad 78
avg hr 150
spd 28.5km

Is their anything I should change or improve?

Thanks

While it is possible to create a full on training plan for you with wattage numbers, periodization of workouts, and specific intervals; the best way for right now may be to just ride. You'll need to build your base and accumulate time in the saddle in order to be able to handle the distances of the charity events. I would say to slowly increase the length of your rides until you can handle much longer rides. At what point in an endurance ride do you normally become very tired? IOW how long can you last on the bike? What are your longest rides? It might be worth it if you can handle the boredom to maybe reduce frequency to 3-4 days with longer workouts instead of 5 days a week doing 40 k. The goal before you build up your speed would be to be able last most of the distance of the event, so just build up your functional endurance*.

Once the weather does get better I planing to train 3 nights a week for aprox 50km a night and the weekend planing to to do 75-100 km a day